It’s a healthy path from the kitchen to the frame store

We’re pleased to share another guest post, this time by Jane from our Arlington & Lexington stores. If you want to find out more after reading her write-up, you can check out Jane’s own blog at Corn in the USA.

When I’m not at Big Picture, there’s a pretty good chance you can find me in my kitchen experimenting with pastry recipes. Baking offers a relaxing hobby and a tasty finished product, but my real objective is to find ways of making my favorite desserts healthier and with a smaller carbon footprint than the ones you buy at the store.

The search for sustainable ingredients is a fun and challenging journey in itself; and I’ve found some fantastic local farms and health food stores who supply me with the ingredients I need.
Pasture-raised dairy products, raw sweeteners like maple sugar, and whole wheat or nut-derived flours are all great substitutes for conventional baking ingredients. They are healthier, more sustainably produced, and maybe I’m biased, but I think they taste better.
My most recent adventure was muffins made from freshly picked Massachusetts apples. They were a hit when I brought them in to share at work!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

